Moving forward

I’ve really felt disconnected from myself and everything and everyone else since those magical pink lines appeared almost two weeks ago. I’ve barely felt like blogging and have hardly even paid attention to the rest of the blogging world. So many of us seem to retreat from blogging once that BFP is achieved and I understand why now. I am nonetheless, back on the wagon!

The debilitating fear of which I’ve been writing is finally less debilitating and the chunks of time where I’m not a nervous wreck are increasing. There are even moments of complete joy, which is so very welcome. Still though, this is slow time. 5 weeks, 4 days.

Ducks has been the most wonderful and supportive partner that a girl could wish for. She says she knows that everything is going to be ok and she’s treating me like royalty. She’s so motivated and is trying really hard to make this time special. A few days after the BFP, she brought home a pregnancy cook book. It’s so typically Ducks that the only pregnancy book she’s bought herself relates to food! I really had to giggle when I saw it – she’s the sort who can always be found in the cookery section of major book shops – lost Ducks? Have you checked the cook books? It’s almost pathological. Anyway, the recipes are pretty good and she’s been so diligent in trying recipes that won’t make me nauseous. Green beans, great! Pears, not so much.

Not only has she become an enthusiastic cook but she’s barely letting me do any housework either. Last night as she buzzed around cleaning up after dinner, doing laundry, attending to the animals, she meekly asked me to sort the socks. My one job for the evening involved sitting on the couch, watching crap tv and pairing up socks. I am spoilt. I got so lucky when I found her. She’s a keeper and I’m so honoured that she wants to keep me too especially given some of my very ordinary behaviour of late.

So, a quick symptom check

  • tired beyond belief – but not everyday.
  • nausea and reflux – most days, but no vomiting yet.
  • stuffy nose – every morning and usually again by the end of the day.
  • momentary twinges and pains in my uterus – every day, often.
  • low level ovarian cramps – every few days, in the evening.
  • sore boobs – sometimes, this is a strange one. at times I cannot stand the pain and other times, I can slap them around without consequence.
  • peeing – lots!
  • moodswings – some days, but no tears yet.
  • early morning insomnia! – I love lying wide awake from 4am to 6am – it’s especially great when I have to get up at 6.30!

As strange as it may sound, I’m looking forward to the onset of vomiting. I think it’ll help to ease my fears a bit!

10 Comments

Filed under sanity

10 responses to “Moving forward

  1. Hah! Except if it never comes… the vomiting I mean. I have felt incredibly nauseous ridiculously often but absolutely no vomit. Sometimes I feel like it would be just better if I did…

    I’m glad Ducks is being so supportive. It makes such a huge difference to have that.

  2. What a wonderful Ducks!!!

    I cannot wait to read about the vomiting!

  3. I vomited only once, and I much preferred the non-vomiting! I’m so, so happy for you. Have I mentioned that lately? šŸ™‚

  4. Wow….! You are ONE week ahead of me…. I am getting those EXACT SAME twinges. They are a little painful, and only last a second. It’s so weird. No throwing up here either…yay for that for both of us though eh?

    Anyway, Ducks sounds pretty sweet šŸ˜‰

    So glad you are happy…this is one exciting time!!! xo

  5. That’s completely understandable. And cute cute cute about Ducks.

  6. yup, another sara

    I know exactly what you mean about pulling back from the internet once you see that second line. But I am glad that you are back and keeping us updated. I say hooray for no throwing up!

  7. No need to vomit, love – you have plenty of (reassuring) symptoms. Congrats again!!

  8. LKC

    Just found your blog. Congrats! You are just a few days behind me and it will be great to follow your story as we make our way through our parallel journey.

  9. I want to hang out with Ducks in the cookery section of major book shops! Definitely my thing.

    I have been thinking of you a lot and hoping everything is going well. Just keep eating, sorting socks, and sleeping!

    Make sure to pop in once in a while to give us an update. xoxo

  10. bamamoms

    We need updates!

Leave a Reply

